Map of Scotland
Sports and Leisure
The village of Kinnesswood
together with Scotlandwell, Easter Balgedie, Wester Balgedie and
Glenlomond form the Parish of Portmoak. The villages all nestle
along the foot of the Bishop Hill, part of the Lomond Hills. The
name, Portmoak, or the original "Pitmoag" takes the name
from the area dedicated to St. Moak in the first Millennium AD.
From the 16th Century until 1926 the village was an important centre
for the manufacture of Parchment and Vellum.
Kinnesswood is home to the famous Michael Bruce Way, a delightful
walk, and boasts a 9 hole golf course and some lovely buildings
dating from the 18th and 19th centuries. The Gentle Poet of Lochleven,
Michael Bruce, whose grave can be seen in the Churchyard, was born
here on 27 March 1746. He penned many poems, ballads and songs and
died at the young age of 21 on 5th July 1767.The Michael Bruce Trust
was created in 1905 for the purpose of raising funds to maintain
the cottage where he was born. A year later, in 1906 the Cottage
Museum was opened to the public. Keys to the museum can be obtained
from the garage in the Main Street, an honesty box within the museum
is provided for donations.
The main pockets of population in Portmoak are in Scotlandwell and
Kinnesswood, where there is a primary school. The nearest libraries
are in Leslie and Kinross but the village is visited by a mobile
library every two weeks.
Photographs of the village and can be seen here
Kinnesswood in Bloom have produced an interesting leaflet entitled
A Walk Around Kinnesswood - see
about Kinnesswood and the Community Council can be found at the
-- Carnbo -- Crook
of Devon -- Kinnesswood -- Kinross
-- Loch Leven -- Milnathort
-- Rumbling Bridge -- Scotlandwell